What Happens if Someone is Injured in the Car Accident and the Other Vehicle Does Not Have Insurance?

If someone is injured in a motor vehicle accident, and the other vehicle in the accident does not have insurance for that vehicle, there’s a couple of different ways that this situation can play out. If you, the injured person, were in your own car and you had insurance, there’s protection in your insurance policy under what’s called SUM, supplemental uninsured motorist protection. This covers situations like that so that you’re not out of luck, and you’re able to get a recovery from your insurance company. If the other vehicle had no insurance it gets a little technical, but that’s the way it works in the State of New York. There are other variations about that, but for the most part, in the accident, if you’re the driver and it’s not your fault, and there’s no insurance on the vehicle that was at fault, there are a couple of different ways that you can get a recovery. The first one I mentioned is if you have insurance, and you’re the owner of that car, you can get SUM coverage for your injuries. The motor vehicle accident indemnification corporation (MVAIC) in the State of New York is the place of last resort if there is no other insurance available for that injured person in the accident. However, there are limitations to the amount of insurance you can recover from that MVAIC company.

The law office of Weinstein, Chase, Messinger and Peters is composed of  dedicated attorneys, who have years of experience dealing with automobile accident cases throughout the Brooklyn, New York area. Contact them for your free initial consultation.

Address Icon

We Practiced Over 50 Years At
26 Court St.
Suite 1503
Brooklyn, New York 11242

Currently Practice Resides At
40 Wall Street, Suite 2744
New York, New York 10005

Phone Icon 718-304-0550
Clock Icon

9:00AM – 5:00PM

About Us

The personal injury law firm of Goldberg & Chase, LLP. in Brooklyn, New York represents clients throughout the New York (NYC) metropolitan area, including the five boroughs: Brooklyn, the Bronx, Manhattan, Staten Island, and Queens. The counties we serve include Suffolk County, Nassau County, Westchester County, and Putnam County.