What is Vicious Propensity?

When a person is bitten by a dog in New York, they do not automatically have a case. First, they have to prove that the dog that bit them had what is known as “vicious propensity.” This means that the dog has previously been known to have vicious or violent tendencies towards other dogs, humans or animals. They may have previously bitten someone, often growl at others, or gotten into fights with other dogs/animals. This shows that there are a number of reasons that this dog may be a danger to those around it.

Being attacked by a dog can be a very scary situation and result in life-long trauma and anxiety as well as serious injury. If vicious propensity can be proven, you may be eligible for compensation for your medical bills, lost wages, and for your pain and suffering. In order to prove that a dog has a vicious propensity, you may have to conduct an investigation with anyone that may come in contact with the dog. This can include family members and friends of the owner, neighbors, and even the mail carrier or FedEx person.

Certain locales in New York are also privy to a theory known as breed-specific legislation. This means that the towns that have this type of legislation restrict ownership of pit-bulls or even partial pit-bulls. If you are bitten by a pit-bull in a location where this law exists, you may be entitled to receive compensation.

The law office of Weinstein, Chase, Messinger & Peters serves Brooklyn and the greater New York area with effective legal services regarding personal injury, medical malpractice, real estate and estate planning. If you need our help, contact Weinstein Chase, Messinger & Peters for you free initial consultation.

Address Icon

We Practiced Over 50 Years At
26 Court St.
Suite 1503
Brooklyn, New York 11242

Currently Practice Resides At
40 Wall Street, Suite 2744
New York, New York 10005

Phone Icon 718-304-0550
Clock Icon

9:00AM – 5:00PM

About Us

The personal injury law firm of Goldberg & Chase, LLP. in Brooklyn, New York represents clients throughout the New York (NYC) metropolitan area, including the five boroughs: Brooklyn, the Bronx, Manhattan, Staten Island, and Queens. The counties we serve include Suffolk County, Nassau County, Westchester County, and Putnam County.